updated on 21 July 2019 | reading time: 3 minutes

Working with files

Saving and Opening Files

Open

You can open files saved in your Gravit Cloud account as well as those saved on your local hard drive.

To open locally saved file use: File > Open file… or in the Welcome Screen Open from computer (2) tab in the left sidebar.

other options welcome screen

To open files saved to the Gravit Cloud use: File > Open from the Cloud… or in the Welcome Screen Open from Gravit Cloud(1) tab in the left sidebar .

Note:  You have to be online in order to save files in the Gravit Cloud.

The convenient Open Recent (3) option lists recently edited project files. This includes files from both your local storage and from your cloud account.

Save

To save your designs use File > Save or  / CTRL + S.

If your file isn’t already saved, the desktop version of Gravit Designer will ask you where you want to save your file. On your hard drive or in the cloud. If you use Gravit Designer in the browser file will be saved directly in your Cloud storage.

 

 

  • If you save in the cloud, you can access your designs at any time from different devices (for example your Home and your Work computer).
  • If you choose to use your computer storage, Gravit Designer will prompt you to choose a local folder where the file will be saved. The file will be saved as “File Name.gvdesign”.

 

Alternatively, you can use any of the following options under the File menu:

  • Save to Cloud as…
  • Save to system as… (desktop version)
  • Download to system… (web browser version)

The official (native) file format of Gravit Designer is “.gvdesign”. Using it will ensure that full fidelity of your design is retained. Gravit Designer is the only application that will read this format. This format is also useful for sharing your editable file with other users of Gravit Designer.

If you want to use another file format that is supported in Gravit Designer you must use an Export function.

Note: SVG export has a checkbox for Preserve editing capabilities for SVG files. This will embed Gravit Designer information so the file can be reopened and edited in Gravit Designer without loss of features, the same as a .gvdesign file.
Note: You have to be online in order to use files saved in the Gravit Cloud.
Tip: Saving to multiple files (myproject01, myproject02, etc) during the project is a wise idea. This enables a backup copy in case a later version fails to save (hardware problems, battery failure or power outage, network outage, etc) and the ability to return to an earlier stage and make variations on a project.

Keep in mind that since version 3.5 Gravit Designer has a Version History which saves the last 20 iterations in the Gravit Cloud. This is an exclusive Gravit Designer PRO feature.

If you have not made any changes to your project since the last save, the Save icon will not be active.

If you have made changes but not saved, you will see an asterisk * beside the filename in the project tabs (1) at the top of the window. This indicates unsaved changes.

If you have not saved your project at all, the tab will show as Untitled (2).

To save the current project to a different location or to a different file name, use the File > Save to file… (desktop apps), or File > Save to Cloud… (web app)…