updated on 03 October 2019 | reading time: 7 minutes

Working with files

Working with Gravit Cloud

Working with files on Cloud

Gravit gives you massive cloud storage to access your design from any device.

You get the files stored on the cloud by going to File/Open from Cloud… or by using the shortcut / SHIFT + / CTRL +O.

Open from Cloud

You can also reach cloud storage from the Welcome Screen.

Welcome screen gravit cloud

To save your artworks use the file menu File/Save to Cloud.. (1) or File/Save (2).

save and save to cloud dialog boxes

The last one has a handy shortcut / CTRL + Sand brings up the dialog box with the Save to cloud option.

Save to cloud dialog box

Cloud Dialog Box

No matter you are saving to cloud or opening from it, the cloud dialog box is much the same.

Cloud's header
It comprises of the three sections :

  1. Header section
  2. Content section
  3. Footer section

Header Section

The header contains the Gravit Cloud’s dropdown(1), Refresh Cloud Content button(2), your account information(3) and close, maximize/minimize icons(4).

Gravit Cloud header elements

 

Note: you can access your Google Drive storage from the Gravit Cloud dropdown.
Google drive link
To learn more about Google Drive account integration, please, read the next chapter of this article.

Content Section

The content section contains three areas:

  1. Helper area where you can create a new folder, change the view or list your files into a specific order
  2. Folder area to select the folder
  3. File area with all of the files you store on the cloud or in the selected folderContent section

The footer section is the one that differs depending on whether you are saving or retrieving the file.

If you are opening the file it contains nothing.

If you are saving the file a typical save file dialog(1) shows up on the footer.

Footer section

When you select the file it brings up a few buttons to manage the file:

  1. Copy
  2. Cut
  3. Delete
  4. Download to save the file on your deviceadditional buttons on footer when file is selected

You can reach the same options via dropdown(2) by clicking on the ellipsis icon(1) on the top-right of the thumbnail.

Drop-down menu

Note:  by default, the ellipsis icon is hidden. To bring it up hover over the file thumbnail
Bring up the ellipsis icon
The hidden drop-down has an option to rename the file. When selected, it allows you to adjust the file title directly without additional dialog panels.
Rename the file

Google Drive Integration

You can open any file from your Google Drive storage and edit it in Gravit Designer.

First, expand the Gravit Cloud dropdown on the top-left of the Gravit Cloud Panel.

Google drive link

Select Connect new Cloud drive… to bring up a Add new Cloud drive panel.

add new cloud drive panel, Gravit

For now, this panel has only one option – Connect Google Drive. Click on it to bring up a familiar dialog box with the list of your Google accounts.

Choose the google account

Select the account to proceed to the confirmation dialog box. Click Allow button if you agree with the privacy policy and terms of use.

Confirmation dialog box

It will open yet another dialog box with a wordy message which basically means the following:

  1. Click Open Additional Files button to select the file from the Google Drive storage and open it in Gravit Designer
  2. Click Ok if you only want to connect the Gravit app to the Google Drive account

add more files

Note: reagardless of the option selected you are now able to save your designs directly to the Google Drive by going to the File/Save to Cloud as… or by using the shortcut / SHIFT + / CTRL +S

Open a File from the Google Drive

Imagine you are looking for the file you once saved in your Google Drive.

You can open it by following these steps:

  1. Head over to File/Open from Cloud.. or use the shortcut / SHIFT + / CTRL +O
    File open from the cloud
  2. Make sure the Personal Google Drive is selected in the Clouds dropdown on the top-left of the panel
    Personal Google Drive folder
  3. Click on the button Open files… to open the Google Drive folder
    Open files from google drive, Gravit
  4. Double click on the file to start editing it in Gravit Designer or choose the file and click Select button on the bottom left.
    Google drive folder. how to select the file for editing in Gravit

Work with Multiple Files

You can’t open multiple files at once in Gravit Designer regardless it’s your local drive or Google Drive.

Select Multiple files from Goog;e drive

Selecting multiple files(1) from the Google Drive folder holding  / SHIFT or  / CTRL you can add them to the Gravit Cloud panel. They would be displayed as thumbnails in the content section.

Multiple files opened into Gravit's Cloud

Note: you can’t add multiple files by selecting folder. The folder you selected would be displayed inside the folder tree of the Gravit Cloud, but with no content.
open folder from Google drive

Google Drive options

To edit your Google Drive integration expand the Cloud dropdown and select the Settings icon.

Goggle drive integration option in Gravit

In opened dialog box you can type a name of your integration.

Edit Cloud Drive

Click the Save button to commit the changes.

Save cloud dialog box changes

Click the Disconnect button to exit your current Google Drive account and cancel the Google Drive integration.

disconnect the account

Now you are able to pick up another Google Drive account to connect to the Gravit Designer.

Google drive link

Sharing Files

Starting from version 2.1 you can share designs you saved on the cloud. All you need to do is to copy and paste the link from a Sharing pop-up.

Sharing pop-up

To open the sharing pop-up click the Share button on top right of the Gravit Designer document.

Share button

Click the Copy button to copy the link to the clipboard.

Copy button

Now you can share the file by pasting the link on the social media, blog posts, forums messengers or in the e-mail.

You can click here to open the file and see how it works.

Note: the sharing link is unique and not directly modifiable.You can not place the cursor and type inside the link field, although you have some sharing option to adjust and change the output file. To learn more, please, read the next chapter “sharing options”.

You can disable/enable sharing dialog box by toggling the slider on the top right of the sharing pop-up.

Toggle sharing options

In the image below you can see the pop-up with the disabled sharing dialog box.

Disabled dialog box

Sharing Options

The sharing options are important to add up to control the permissions of the file you share.

Sharing options

By default, Allow to Save option (1) is selected, so users are able to save the vector and raster versions of the file on their computers.

Sharing Option closeup

Deselect this option to prevent users from saving the shared file. Follow this link with save feature disabled. Notice, that Download option (2) from the File menu is not available.

download option is disabled

The Allow to Inspect option(2) permits users to modify the file. Disable this option to make Gravit document very lean – with no sidebars and toolbar.

Lean document

Follow this link to see how it looks like.

Version History

You can access up to 20 last versions of your designs saved on the Gravit Cloud. Continue working from a different point, restore a critical element or see how your design evolved. It can be accessed from File > Show Version History.

A new version is created every time you save your file.

After accessing Show Version History, you are presented with a list of all available versions of the current design in the right panel. Clicking on a version shows it on the canvas for you to inspect — with a double-click you can edit it.

To give you an extra indication that you are previewing a particular version, the menu bar is replaced with two buttons: Edit this version and Close preview. Both functions (Preview and Restore) are also available from the context menu of each version in the list. Even when you have reverted to an older version, all future versions are still accessible in the list — also when saving after that.

This is an exclusive Gravit Designer PRO feature.